

Graduate Studies Committee

January 7, 2016 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM HPNP 2306

Members: Dr. Jason Frazier (PD), Dr. Sihong Song (PC), Dr. Jatinder Lamba (PTR), Dr. Maureen Keller-Wood (ORGS), Vivian Lantow (GP), Kim Mahoney (GP)

Guests: Dr. Hong Xiao (POP), Dr. Jane Aldrich (MC)

Absent: Dr. Richard Segal (POP), Dr. Margaret James (MC), Dr. Ian Tebbett (FORENSICS), Marci Smeltz (SP)



- **Accept Minutes** from November 24, 2015
- **Research Showcase** review of oral submissions



Graduate Studies Committee

Meeting Minutes

January 7, 2016 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM HPNP 2306

Members: Dr. Jason Frazier (PD), Dr. Sihong Song (PC), Dr. Jatinder Lamba (PTR), Dr. Maureen Keller-Wood (ORGS), Vivian Lantow (GP), Kim Mahoney (GP)

- **Guests:** Dr. Hong Xiao (POP), Dr. Jane Aldrich (MC)
- Absent: Dr. Richard Segal (POP), Dr. Margaret James (MC), Dr. Ian Tebbett (FORENSICS), Marci Smeltz (SP)
 - Accept minutes from November 24, 2015 meeting
 - Research Showcase Oral Submissions Committee scored and ranked each submission separately before the meeting. Discussion ensued about the disparate scores within each category.

Dr. Xiao (substitute for Dr. Segal) was not able to review the submissions before the meeting because she did not receive the submissions from the Graduate Programs office in time. Kim sent Dr. Xiao and Dr. Keller-Wood electronic versions of three students' abstracts for review during the meeting in the hopes that Dr. Xiao could act as the tie-breaker between the Junior Division submissions.

The Levitt Division was scored too close among the committee members, so Dr. Xiao was asked to review the entire category and send her results to Dr. Keller-Wood to make the final decision.

The committee decided that the inability to follow the abstract directions would disqualify a candidate from becoming a finalist. The two students that did not follow the instructions had the lowest scores of their division, so their disqualification did not affect the finalists.

Concern was raised about having multiple finalists from the same lab. This could reflect a bias towards the style of research coming from a specific lab. This also could be due to some labs employing more graduate students than others, so more submissions would come from the larger lab groups.

The Junior Division finalists will be Weijing Cai, Justin Smith, and Ahmed El-Shikha. The Senior Division finalists will be Nihal El Rouby, Lei Wang, and Mohammad Akbar. The Levitt Division will be determined after Dr. Xiao reviews the five submissions.

Judges for Poster Submissions – Dr. Keller-Wood asked each member of the committee to submit one COP name and one out-of-department name to serve as judges for the poster competition. Post-doctorates are able to serve as judges for graduate and PharmD students.

The poster submission did not require an abstract this year, but in the future, it would be a good idea to require one. Perhaps we could create a booklet of abstracts for the poster judges to review before the actual competition next year.

- Graduate Programs will send out the "regret" letters to those not chosen to present an oral presentation. The letter will need to be modified to allow those students the option to present a poster at the Research Showcase.
- Meeting adjourned at 3:00pm